- conflicts or gaps
- [[{"topic": "Seed round structure and dating", "issue": "Sources disagree on seed amount/date and relationship to March 2012 undisclosed Sequoia round vs August 2012 $5M Series A; TechCrunch says Sequoia led an earlier seed round, while FinSMEs cites a separate $1M seed without exact date.", "source_urls": ["https://techcrunch.com/2012/08/22/futureadvisor-sequoia-funding/", "https://techcrunch.com/2012/03/20/futureadvisor-raises-funding-from-sequoia-angels-to-bring-financial-and-investment-advice-to-the-masses/", "https://www.finsmes.com/2014/05/futureadvisor-raises-15-5m-in-series-b-funding.html", "https://big-picture.com/fintech/futureadvisor.html"]}, {"topic": "Total venture funding", "issue": "Most credible contemporaneous sources cite $21.5M total; some secondary databases report $21.52M or $22M without primary confirmation.", "source_urls": ["https://techcrunch.com/2015/08/26/blackrock-acquires-sequoia-backed-futureadvisor/", "https://www.cbinsights.com/company/futureadvisor/financials"]}, {"topic": "Founder roster", "issue": "YC and company press name Bo Lu and Jon Xu as co-founders; Business Insider also names Jared McFarland and Clyde Law as early co-founders/sign-ons without corroboration in YC/BlackRock primary sources.", "source_urls": ["https://www.ycombinator.com/companies/futureadvisor", "https://www.businessinsider.com/blackrocks-futureadvisor-cto-jon-xu-interview-2016-5"]}, {"topic": "Employee count at acquisition", "issue": "TechCrunch reported roughly 40 employees in Aug 2015; YC later lists 51; no single authoritative contemporaneous headcount.", "source_urls": ["https://techcrunch.com/2015/08/26/blackrock-acquires-sequoia-backed-futureadvisor/", "https://www.ycombinator.com/companies/futureadvisor"]}, {"topic": "BlackRock acquisition price", "issue": "BlackRock press release did not disclose terms; reported $150M-$200M range comes from Financial Times reporting cited by TechCrunch and others, not official confirmation.", "source_urls": ["https://ir.blackrock.com/news-and-events/press-releases/press-releases-details/2015/BlackRock-to-Acquire-FutureAdvisor/default.aspx", "https://techcrunch.com/2015/08/26/blackrock-acquires-sequoia-backed-futureadvisor/"]}, {"topic": "BlackRock acquisition closing date", "issue": "Press release expected Q4 2015 close; BBVA January 2016 release says acquired in October 2015; exact closing date not found in primary legal filing excerpt.", "source_urls": ["https://ir.blackrock.com/news-and-events/press-releases/press-releases-details/2015/BlackRock-to-Acquire-FutureAdvisor/default.aspx", "https://www.bbva.com/en/bbva-compass-teams-futureadvisor-offer-clients-access-comprehensive-affordable-investment-advice-anytime-anywhere/"]}, {"topic": "2023 Ritholtz transaction terms", "issue": "Multiple outlets confirm sale of retail business on 2023-02-28 but terms were not disclosed.", "source_urls": ["https://www.businessinsider.com/blackrock-futureadvisor-robo-advisor-ritholtz-wealth-management-2023-2", "https://www.wealthmanagement.com/financial-technology/blackrock-sells-futureadvisor-s-direct-to-consumer-business-to-ritholtz"]}, {"topic": "Current website availability", "issue": "futureadvisor.com returned HTTP 503 during research; current live consumer site status could not be verified from primary site at research time.", "source_urls": []}, {"topic": "Paid service pricing/minimums", "issue": "0.50% annual fee and $10,000 minimum cited only in secondary aggregator (Startup Intros), not in primary company press releases reviewed.", "source_urls": ["https://startupintros.com/orgs/futureadvisor"]}]]
- source urls
- ["https://big-picture.com/fintech/futureadvisor.html", "https://ir.blackrock.com/news-and-events/press-releases/press-releases-details/2015/BlackRock-to-Acquire-FutureAdvisor/default.aspx", "https://startupintros.com/orgs/futureadvisor", "https://techcrunch.com/2012/03/20/futureadvisor-raises-funding-from-sequoia-angels-to-bring-financial-and-investment-advice-to-the-masses/", "https://techcrunch.com/2012/08/22/futureadvisor-sequoia-funding/", "https://techcrunch.com/2015/08/26/blackrock-acquires-sequoia-backed-futureadvisor/", "https://vator.tv/2012-03-20-futureadvisor-launches-as-self-serve-financial-advisor/", "https://www.bbva.com/en/bbva-compass-teams-futureadvisor-offer-clients-access-comprehensive-affordable-investment-advice-anytime-anywhere/", "https://www.businessinsider.com/blackrock-futureadvisor-robo-advisor-ritholtz-wealth-management-2023-2", "https://www.businessinsider.com/blackrocks-futureadvisor-cto-jon-xu-interview-2016-5", "https://www.cbinsights.com/company/futureadvisor/financials", "https://www.fa-mag.com/news/u-s--bank-tabs-futureadvisor-for-robo-offering-28675.html", "https://www.financial-planning.com/news/blackrock-jumps-into-robo-market", "https://www.finsmes.com/2014/05/futureadvisor-raises-15-5m-in-series-b-funding.html", "https://www.geekwire.com/2014/heres-650-word-explanation-seattle-entrepreneur-moved-san-francisco/", "https://www.investmentnews.com/fintech/news/blackrock-closes-futureadvisors-retail-business-moves-clients-to-ritholtz-wealth-234494", "https://www.linkedin.com/in/bo-lu-439461", "https://www.linkedin.com/in/jon-xu-5a28033", "https://www.planadviser.com/blackrock-sells-direct-consumer-robo-advisory-business-ritholtz/", "https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/rbc-wealth-management-collaborates-with-futureadvisor-to-launch-digital-advice-pilot-in-the-us-567336961.html", "https://www.reuters.com/article/business/blackrock-to-acquire-robo-adviser-idUSKCN0QV1HS/", "https://www.wealthmanagement.com/financial-technology/blackrock-sells-futureadvisor-s-direct-to-consumer-business-to-ritholtz", "https://www.wealthmanagement.com/financial-technology/us-bank-to-partner-with-futureadvisor-on-robo", "https://www.ycombinator.com/blog/blackrock-the-worlds-largest-asset-management-firm-acquires-futureadvisor-yc-s10", "https://www.ycombinator.com/companies/futureadvisor"]